Can someone explain me this code please?

Silverstripe Version: 3.6 to 4.5.2 conversion

I have problems to understand what the following code does. I obviously am not so deep into SilverStripe and PHP (self-taught) that is makes sense to me - How does it all fit together especially the return statement?

The code worked in SS3.6, but now with only adding use and namespace it doesn’t work. The link doesn’t get shown as link anymore but as normal text (I agree to the Returns Terms + Conditions on the Returns page.) - funny, here it gets shown as a link just as I want it to be, but in the browser it shows <a class=“tandc” href="/resources/returns/#returns" target=“new” title=“Read the terms and conditions”>Returns</a>

• as I actually expected it to do in the first place, but it obviously worked somehow in SS3.6
<?php
namespace MyNamespace;
use SilverStripe\Forms\CheckboxField;
use SilverStripe\CMS\Model\SiteTree;
/**
 * Terms and conditions checkbox field that must be checked to be valid.
 */
class TermsAndConditionsCheckboxField extends CheckboxField
{
    protected $termsPage = null;
    public function __construct($name = "AgreeToTermsAndConditions", $title = null)
    {
        $this->name = $name;
        $title = $title ? $title : $this->getTitleContent();
        parent::__construct($name, $title);
    }
    public function setTermsPage(SiteTree $page) {
        $this->termsPage = $page;
        $this->title = $this->getTitleContent(); // set new title
        return $this;
    }
    public function getTitleContent()
    {
        if (!$this->termsPage) {
            return _t($this->class.'.Content', 'I agree to the terms and conditions');
        }
        return _t(
            $this->class.'.PageLinkContent',
            'I agree to the Returns Terms + Conditions on the <a class="tandc" href="{TermsPageLink}#returns" target="new" title="Read the terms and conditions">{TermsPageTitle}</a> page.',
            '',
            array(