for those missing betterbuttons

Hi all,

I recently released this module

It’s basically what’s missing from betterbuttons for SS4 + a few nice addition. I hope it can help others out there :slight_smile:

7 Likes

Hi there! I’m just getting started with Silverstripe, and I’m trying to accomplish something that I would consider rather “simple”, but for the life of me I can’t figure out how to do it. I believe your module can be of assistance, but I’m not sure what steps I need to take. Here is my “simple” task:

When editing a page in the CMS, there are two buttons at the bottom (Save and Publish). I’d like to have a third button down there that says “CLICK ME” and when you click the button it just displays a JavaScript alert of the name of the page you are editing. Obviously this functionality wouldn’t be very useful in the real world, but I’m trying to do it as a proof of concept and the learn how similar actions could be performed in the future.

I installed your module and I think I have it set up correctly, but I’m not sure where to go from there. I see in your code examples that I’m likely going to need something similar to this code:

public function getCMSActions()
{
    $actions = parent::getCMSActions();

$actions->push(new CustomAction("doCustomAction", "CLICK ME"));

return $actions;
}

public function doCustomAction() {
    return $Title;
}