How to integrate Gulp with SilverStripe

Silverstripe Version: 4.12

Question:

I have a bootstrap 5 template I’m keen to integrate with SilverStripe. It comes all set up with gulp and I can customise it with scss etc. It currently takes static html pages and will scan those for css js use etc and create .min files from what is used. This all works fine, but I’d like to be able to use this functionality on the SilverStripe .ss files (rather than static html), just not sure how to do this as I’m very new to gulp.

Any advice on how to best use gulp with SilverStripe would be much appreciated, or at least some tops on where to start looking and how to best set up folder structure to work for both.

@GuySartorelli thanks for the feedback. In the meantime I’ve managed to get this working…

In response to your questions:

1. actually a bit of both - the Bootstrap theme I have is already set up and optimised for the quickest load time using gulp, so I’m keen to make use of that feature. A motivator was also to make use of the gulp browser-sync.
  2. I’ve managed to set gulp up to scan .ss files instead of .html files, was actually pretty simple in the end. It picks up every .ss file in my templates directory, so form field and email styles etc all get scanned for css/js/asset etc usage. I added a dummy .ss page with all the required .js and .css files I have in PageController requirements to ensure they’re added in by gulp. Then .env and PageController are set up to use dev version or live version of theme (which gulp compiles), so I can easily switch between them and check the optimised resources are working correctly too. And best bit is that when I make any change to a .ss file or .scss gulp will automatically refresh the browser. The one bit I’m missing is what command to put in composer.json to tell it what resources to expose in dev mode vs live mode - is there something like “expose-dev” or only “expose”?